And Now We Turn Our Attention To Country Music

 

            I confess, I listen to country music.  I don’t understand the rap or hip-hop.  I do understand that it helps if you are a narcissist before you begin singing.  I don’t like the alternative and the new rock does not make sense to me.  So here I am a country music fan.

 

            There is a new song out there about chicken fry.  I think that might be the title, but I don’t even know who sings it.

 

            The sad thing about this song is the final verse.  Like great country songs, “Chicken Fry” wants to get in some thank yous to the soldiers who are fighting and dying for our freedoms.  I believe I am as thankful as the next guy, in fact, these days I am more thankful than the next guy.

 

            My fear is that this song speaks to what we have become as a nation.  We are no longer a nation of higher ideals; instead, we have become a nation of whiners and thrill seekers.

 

After thanking the soldiers for their sacrifice, the singer recounts what they have died to give us.  Here is the chorus, as best as I can remember it:  “The things we love, like a chicken fry, warm beer on a Friday night, a pair of jeans that fit just right and the radio on.”

 

            Now there is a little more than this, but if we are thankful for soldiers dying so that we can enjoy another beer filled weekend, the radio, and blue jeans, then we are the most pitiful people in the history of the world.

 

            I would hope that our soldiers are dying for a little more than these things.

 

            And by the way, I thought we were no longer allowed to eat fried chicken.

0 Responses to “And Now We Turn Our Attention To Country Music”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Books Worth Reading

C.S. LEWIS--Mere Christianity; CLAIRE BERLINSKI--Menace in Europe: Why the Continent's Crisis is America's Crisis, Too; BRUCE BAWER--While Europe Slept: How Radical islam is Destroying the West from Within; DAVID LEVERING LEWIS--God's Crucible: Islam and the Making of Europe, 570-1215; THOMAS SCHIRRMACHER--The Persecution of Christians Concerns Us All; PHILIP JENKINS--God's Continent: Christianity, Islam, and Europe's Religious Crisis

Top Clicks

  • None

