I Am Not A Theologian, And You Might Now Be Glad

 

            I was reading the Bible a couple of days ago.  No, that was not the last time, I have read it since.  Anyway, I was reading the Bible a couple of days ago, and that is a dangerous thing for a non-trained theologian who is a lawyer to do.

 

            The trouble with reading the Bible with an open mind is that I find myself asking questions.  The bigger trouble is that the answers do not always settle peacefully in my heart.

 

            So, I am looking at the conversation between God and Abram.  You might remember that Abram eventually becomes Abraham.  At the time of the conversation I was reading Abram does not have any children.  That started me to thinking, when God made the promise to Abram he said that anyone who blesses him will be blessed. 

 

            As Christians we have claimed that this extends to the children of Abraham and that means Israel.  Here is where the problems begin for me and now that you are reading this, the problems begin for you.

 

            The promise to Abram was passed to his children and his children include Israel and Ishmael.  So, now you can see my dilemma, we give great honor to Israel, and I think rightly so.

 

            The only question I have is why does the same promise not pass down to the other of Abraham’s children, through Ishmael?

 

            I would be very interested in hearing your answers.

 

            I am really not interested in hearing you explain to me that I am evil for thinking these thoughts.  I probably already knew that.

 

Genesis 12:1-3  Now the Lord said to Abram, “Go forth from your country, and from your relatives and from your father’s house, to the land which I will show you, and I will make you a great nation, and I will bless you, and make your name great, and so you shall be a blessing; and I will bless those who bless you, and the one who curses you I will curse and in you all the families of earth will be blessed.”

1 Response to “I Am Not A Theologian, And You Might Now Be Glad”


  1. 1 Terry 24 February 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Well here are a couple of things then to ponder.

    Are we sure the blessing curse thing extends beyond Abraham? it says he will be a great nation, but the blessing and curse is singular.

    If it extends to all his decedents in a physical sense then your question is quite logical. In the NT Abraham is called the father of a spiritual nation, of faith, could that be the group protected. In Romans it clearly teaches that not all Israel is the true Israel.

    And later it was said that the promise would go through Isaac, which would be a simple, yet possibly not completely satisfying explanation.

    Could it be that those who bless Abraham by acting in faith as he did are the ones referred to, and those that reject him are those that are cursed?


Leave a Reply

Books Worth Reading

C.S. LEWIS--Mere Christianity; CLAIRE BERLINSKI--Menace in Europe: Why the Continent's Crisis is America's Crisis, Too; BRUCE BAWER--While Europe Slept: How Radical islam is Destroying the West from Within; DAVID LEVERING LEWIS--God's Crucible: Islam and the Making of Europe, 570-1215; THOMAS SCHIRRMACHER--The Persecution of Christians Concerns Us All; PHILIP JENKINS--God's Continent: Christianity, Islam, and Europe's Religious Crisis

Top Clicks

  • None

