Just Because You Are Sober Does Not Mean You Are Not Stupid

 

            I know better than to look at the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine, but I cannot help myself.  I was just in Blockbuster and there it was.  It looked like they were faking an interview with the President—they are probably mad because he does not talk to anyone who is still living on flashbacks from sixties acid trips.

 

            My frustration levels were already up because I have been forcibly reminded that the Bruce Springsteen, New Jersey’s Official State Idiot, is playing at the Super Bowl.  I remember when Bruce was going to be the next Bob Dylan, but that never really materialized did it. 

 

            These guys all seem to refuse to grow up.  Of course, why should they, the drugs are still free and the women are still throwing themselves at their feet.  The rock and roll dream lives on.  Listen folks, even Meat Loaf cut his hair and got a real job.

 

            Don’t get me wrong, I am not looking for everyone to agree with me.  I love U2; that is what caused me to pick up the magazine in the first place.  Even though I love them, I doubt we agree on virtually anything in the political world.  The thing I really like about these guys is that they spend the capital they have gotten from their celebrity to do something positive that transcends politics and is making the world a better place.

 

            I am tired of musicians trying to relive the days when they were important.  David Crosby actually complained that we did not have a draft when the war in Iraq started.  If only we would reinstitute the draft it would really give some life to the anti-war protest.  Damn, why is it you can’t count on the government to really come through for you and add some life to a movement that was wrong in the Sixties and is wrong today.

 

            So, here I am, frustrated on a Sunday night.  We are waiting on a new president, who looks a lot like the last guys we had in office, owing a lot to everybody but the people who voted for him—I am not one of them.  At least he is a politician and that should give us something to talk about.  Bill Clinton turned out to have the moral structure of a pimp selling drugs on the side—but he seems like a nice guy.  Maybe a solid, honest Chicago politician who did not seem to lie to us because he never really said anything that made sense to me about what he intended to do will be just what we need.

 

            After all, Chicago has been known for years for its fine, upstanding honest politicians.  I am sure this one is going to be better, after all he looks almost as pretty as John Kennedy and we all know what a fine moral man he was.

 

            Should be fun at the very least!

0 Responses to “Just Because You Are Sober Does Not Mean You Are Not Stupid”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Books Worth Reading

C.S. LEWIS--Mere Christianity; CLAIRE BERLINSKI--Menace in Europe: Why the Continent's Crisis is America's Crisis, Too; BRUCE BAWER--While Europe Slept: How Radical islam is Destroying the West from Within; DAVID LEVERING LEWIS--God's Crucible: Islam and the Making of Europe, 570-1215; THOMAS SCHIRRMACHER--The Persecution of Christians Concerns Us All; PHILIP JENKINS--God's Continent: Christianity, Islam, and Europe's Religious Crisis

Top Clicks

  • None

