Why?

 

            I was once sitting in a church meeting, really it was more of a Christian cult, but we don’t need to explore that any further right now, when the guest preacher said that there was one word God hates.  I admit I was intrigued because I like to know what God loves and it is probably important to know what God hates as well.

 

            So, I sat, listening intently waiting to be enlightened.  Unfortunately, like so much that is being presented as Christian truth, this was not even good pop psychology.

 

            “God hates the word why.  The word why suggests that we do not have faith and that we think we are equal to God and can therefore question Him.”

 

            I have to confess, I am the guy who always looks around at the end of a church service when the pastors asks to have every head bowed and every eye closed.  I don’t believe in sneaking into the kingdom of God.  Therefore, I look around to see if some one has really raised their hand or if the pastor is using encouragement to get us to join the others.

 

            Asking why is to count myself equal to God.  That sure seemed a little strange to me, so I looked around the room to see if anyone else was troubled.  They did not seem to be, but that did not stop me from tuning out the rest of the sermon.  I don’t have any idea what was said after this point.

 

            I believe God welcomes an inquisitive mind.  I think He welcomes those of us who want to more know than where to blindly go next.  At the same time, I understand the need for blind faith.  There are times when the only answer is this is so because that is way it was designed.

 

            I also believe that God is looking for more than mere robots to follow blindly through every moment of life without thinking.

 

            After all, I was created in the image of God and God is a God of wonder and brilliance.  Why can’t I be like that?  Why can’t I ask why?  Surely God would like to explain a lot of His work to us all—if we only cared enough to ask.

2 Responses to “Why?”


  1. 1 marlajayne 8 January 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I think He likes the word why too. Hmmm. I might be wrong (and I’m too lazy to look it up right now), but didn’t Job ask WHY?

  2. 2 Nancygrace (Nancy Humphries) 12 January 2009 at 5:47 pm

    I believe God loves a questioning inquisitive heart. The depth of God’s word can only be found by those who seek to know Him and explore His word and question. One of my favorite scriptures is in Isaiah where God welcomes us to, “Come, let us reason together,” and then another in Isaiah encourages us to argue our case together, and another even states that we can, “Command God concerning things to come – ‘Thus saith the LORD, the Holy One of Israel, and his Maker, Ask me of things to come concerning my sons, and concerning the work of my hands command ye me.'” If we are to find the treasures of His word we will have to question and to dig for the silver and precious gold found in His word.


Leave a Reply

Books Worth Reading

C.S. LEWIS--Mere Christianity; CLAIRE BERLINSKI--Menace in Europe: Why the Continent's Crisis is America's Crisis, Too; BRUCE BAWER--While Europe Slept: How Radical islam is Destroying the West from Within; DAVID LEVERING LEWIS--God's Crucible: Islam and the Making of Europe, 570-1215; THOMAS SCHIRRMACHER--The Persecution of Christians Concerns Us All; PHILIP JENKINS--God's Continent: Christianity, Islam, and Europe's Religious Crisis

Top Clicks

  • None

